Spain in China + Eating Chicken feet – OMG! Check!

IMG_1940

As you know, China has everything! So of course there’s also a little Spain inside of Wuhan. They are currently also building Italy and Germany next to the Spanish area what’s in the last stop of the second metro line Optics Valley square station.

We entered to the Spanish street through massive shopping mall. Of course it was full of Chinese and hundreds of shops. Once we got out from the shopping mall we discovered lovely western style houses what were situated between skyscrapers. It really looked like Europe! They also had some fountains and sculptures like bulls, flamenco dancers etc.

IMG_1933

Β IMG_1936

It was extremely nice to walk around there. There were many boutiques, cafes and restaurants and an area called “Spanish cuisine” … well that’s another joke. Actually they are offering korean and chinese food in “Spanish cuisine area” and when we asked from one of the workers where could we find spanish food then he said that actually there’s no restaurants with Spanish food. So here’s a small business idea.. go and open an actual Spanish restaurant there πŸ˜‰

Cool vintage boutique in Spanish street
Cool vintage boutique on Spanish street
One lovely cafe
One lovely cafe
Spanish cuisine sign
Spanish cuisine sign

Since we failed with getting any Spanish food, we decided to crab some fresh watermelon juice and headed to the shopping mall to a Hong Kong restaurant. And that’s how I stopped being a vegetarian in China! Ignasi insisted me to try chicken feet and I just couldn’t refuse the challenge.. so of course I tasted those and believe me or not but it was actually super yummy! I definitely recommend to try!

Chicken feet.. doesn't look that scary, does it?!
Chicken feet.. doesn’t look that scary, does it?!
Yep, I did it!
Yep, I did it!

And all of you who miss Europe in Wuhan… go to the Spanish street! I’m sad that the Italian and German area were not opened yet but seems like they are building a little Europe there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

13 thoughts on “Spain in China + Eating Chicken feet – OMG! Check!”

  1. the guy from ‘spanish cuisine sign’ comes from pixar cartoon πŸ˜€ or it was dreamworks… but anyway, it’s from the movie about rat who has been a cook πŸ˜€ chicken feet are not scary, but I just hate the texture and taste πŸ˜€

    1. Hahaaa oh yes πŸ˜€ It’s Ratatouille!!! Weird that I didn’t notice that before πŸ˜€
      I actually really liked the taste.. I guess I have in general some mental block for trying things like frog/dog/rat meat etc.. but I’m happy I at least tried the chicken feet finally πŸ˜€

      1. for me it’s more like texture, not the taste – everything gummy or bouncy is bad to me (unless gummy bear :D)
        good you’ve done that – being in China/HK and not trying chicken feet is a shame πŸ™‚ you also should try tofu century egg to make the list done πŸ™‚

      2. Well yeah I agree with you that the texture of chicken feet is a bit weird.
        Hmm… let’s see about that πŸ˜€ I’m a bit afraid of trying this. Have you tried it? How was it?
        I should probably try it my eyes closed because else it looks too disgusting πŸ˜€

      3. you know, I’ve never tried it by itself but first time I ate it in hot pot – I didn’t even notice until my husband told me haha second time was the same – I ate at his aunt’s place a mix of soft tofu, century egg and a bit of soy sauce – it was my favourite dish until the moment he asked me do I know what I’m eating hah πŸ™‚ it’s actually pretty tasteless πŸ™‚

      4. Hahaa πŸ˜€ wow, I would like to try it without knowing as well πŸ˜€
        If it’s quite tasteless then it doesn’t sound like it could be very horrible experience.. I guess I should give it a try πŸ˜‰

      5. I think it’s just myth created by gwailos πŸ˜€ or maybe the one freshly taken from box really smells, but for me it was literally tasteless πŸ™‚ I’m only sure that I will never eat a stinky tofu. never, ever – even after my dead body πŸ˜€

      6. Hahaa πŸ˜€ why don’t you wanna eat the stinky tofu?
        I mean yeah the smell is horrible and taste is also not the best but I still feel like it’s easier to taste the stinky tofu than those weird eggs πŸ˜€

      7. just bad memories – we looked for wedding ring, it was almost 40C outside, so hot and we had to look for any kind of shadow and aircon and we stand there in Mong Kok argue for few minutes because we got annoyed and there was a stinky tofu in the backgroud πŸ˜€ so just avoiding it πŸ™‚

      1. It depends on the chef… We have a lot of western places here in Shanghai and some are bad, OK or great. It sometimes can vary at the same location, but that is not always the case.

Leave a comment